An insightful gamer asked me about how the Fatigue rules in Victorious work when broken down to specific powers and abilities. To provide examples, I threw together the list below.
Please note: There are 3 types of answers here. “Yes” means use the Fatigue rules (use of ability = Control Attribute as per rulebook), “No” (does not cause fatigue), and “Special” (may or may not depending on power).
‘Control Attribute’ means the pertinent attribute that is generally applied to a given power. This is subject to GM approval, as your Genteel Magistrate might have different ideas of what control attributes are in her chronicle.
|Supernatural Power||Fatigue||Special Notes||Control Attribute|
|Attribute||Special||As per use of attributes as normal||–|
|Entrap||Yes||none||As per Entrapment chosen (see rules)|
|Gigantism||Special||Only when first activated||Constitution|
|Invisibility||Special||Only when first activated||Dexterity|
|Mesmerism||Special||Only when first activated||Charisma|
|Shapeshift||Special||Only when first activated||Constitution|
|Shrink||Special||Only when first activated||Constitution|
|Spider Climb||Special||Only when first activated||Dexterity|
|Suppression||Yes||none||Depends on power or attribute suppressed|
There are two ways for heroes to avoid the problems of Fatigue beyond simply buying up your pertinent attribute score. If your GM permits, a hero can purchase the limitation of a set number of uses for the power. That way, it has its own Fatigue battery and is isolated from the heroine’s attribute score. This is good for powers dependent on a gadget or some contraption that has its own battery.
The other variant to Fatigue is putting a rank of a given power towards Fatigue resistance. With that, the power’s use does not take away control attribute points as normal Fatigue.
For example: White Frost has bought 3 ranks of Blast. Normally this means his blast would do either 3d6, 2d8, or 1d10 damage chosen at character generation. However, he can limit that power to 2 ranks (2d6 or 1d8) and put the third rank toward “no Fatigue” so the blast doesn’t affect his Constitution (control attribute for blast) score for Fatigue.
Naturally it depends on what kind of chronicle your Genteel Magistrate is running but hopefully this will clear up some of the confusion in the use of Fatigue to supernatural powers.
Ever Your Servant,
Genteel Magistrate Michael